photographs and wedding bells

Before I say anything, I just wanted to extend a general, blanket statement that acknowledges the hard work of wedding photographers and that I respect them immensely for the stressful job that they undertake.

With that out of the way, a little over a week ago I photographed a friend’s wedding.

I don’t consider myself to be anything more than an amateur photographer, and I’m barely that, so when I was asked, as a favor, to photograph two of my very good friends’ special day, I made sure to reiterate this point. A lot.

Alas, the day arrived and I began to snap photo after photo, filled to the brim with ceremonial anxiety. It didn’t help my nerves when the first person I met at the ceremony said, ‘Big responsibility! In charge of the life long memories!’ Thanks…It’s lovely to meet you too.

Luckily, my lovely other half was on site to help corral family members and friends for portraits.

Near the end of dinner and as the music started to kick in, I was informed, again, by the couple that I was there as a guest and could relax and have fun. As best I tried, I couldn’t shake the idea that whenever I doing this thing, ‘relaxing’, everyone at the wedding was staring at me thinking, ‘I can’t believe the nerve of that photographer! Look at him! Gallivanting when he should be capturing these moments of blissful celebration!’

Luckily this anxiety and paranoia resulted in my taking portraits in front of a sign that said ‘Welcome to Circus’ late on in the festivities. A lot of my favorites from the day came during this session, but without the consent of those involved, I don’t feel they should be release to the internet, even on a corner of it as small as this.

All in all, I think the day was a success from all angles, but I will NEVER do that again.  Here are a couple of my favorites from the day. My personal favorite being the portrait of Lizzi.

Leave a Reply

